Texas House Member

Member Photo

Rep. Darby, Drew

District 72


Capitol Address:

Room GW.17

P.O. Box 2910

Austin, TX 78768

(512) 463-0331

(512) 463-0517 Fax

District Address:

36 W. Beauregard Suite 517

San Angelo, TX 76903

(325) 658-7313

(325) 659-3762 Fax

Counties Represented:

Coke, Concho, Glasscock, Howard, Irion, Reagan, Runnels, Sterling, Tom Green



Drew Darby was first elected to the Texas House of Representatives in 2006 to serve the people of House District 72. He is a native of San Angelo, Texas and attended San Angelo public schools. Representative Darby graduated from the University of Texas at Austin with a Bachelor of Business Administration, majoring in Finance and minoring in Accounting. He earned a Doctorate of Jurisprudence from the University of Texas in 1971 and is a graduate of the Emerging Political Leaders Program at the Darden School of Business, University of Virginia.

Drew is currently serving as Vice-Chairman of the Committee on Business & Industry and as a member of the Committee on Energy Resources. In 2017, he was appointed by U.S. Secretary of the Interior Ryan Zinke to serve as the Texas representative on the Royalty Policy Committee, an advisory committee to the Secretary to reform the department and improve energy production in offshore and federal lands. In previous sessions, Representative Darby has served as a member of the Legislative Budget Board, the State Water Implementation Fund for Texas Advisory Committee and as a subcommittee chairman for the House Committee on Appropriations.

A successful businessman, Drew is the owner of Surety Title with offices throughout West Texas, and Of Counsel to the Energy and Real Estate practice group at the law firm of Jackson Walker, LLP. He is a member of the Texas Farm Bureau, the National Rifle Association, and the Texas Sheep and Goat Raiser's Association.

Drew's past leadership positions have been as a former member of the San Angelo City Council, former Chairman of the San Angelo Water Advisory Board, and former Chairman of the Lake Nasworthy Advisory Board.

Drew and his wife, Clarisa, have five children and six grandchildren. They are members of the First Presbyterian Church of San Angelo.


During Representative Darby's tenure, he has served on significant committees which include:

86th Session (2019)
Business & Industry (Vice Chair)
Energy Resources

85th Session (2017)
Energy Resources (Chairman)
State & Federal Power & Responsibility, Select (Chairman)
Ways & Means

84th Session (2015)
Energy Resources (Chairman)
Ways & Means
Federal Environmental Regulation, Select

83rd Session (2013)
Subcommittee on Natural Resources, Business & Economic Development, and Regulatory (Chairman)
Subcommittee on Budget Transparency and Reform
Redistricting (Chairman)
Higher Education
Redistricting, Select (Chairman)
Fiscal Impact of Texas Border Support Operations, Select
State Water Implementation Fund for Texas Advisory

82nd Session (2011)
Subcommittee on Natural Resources, Business & Economic Development, and Regulatory (Chairman)
Transportation (Vice Chair)
Local and Consent Calendars
State Sovereignty

81st Session (2009)
Subcommittee on Business and Economic Development (Vice Chair)
Subcommittee on Stimulus
Federal Economic Stabilization Funding, Select
Human Services
Transportation Funding, Select
Transportation Funding, Select, Subcommittee on Funding (Chair)

80th Session (2007)
Subcommittee on Regulatory and Business & Industry (Chair - Budget & Oversight)
House Administration
Property Tax Relief and Appraisal Reform, Select
Use of Sales Tax on Sporting Goods, Joint Legislative Task Force

Representative Darby's accomplishments include the Chairman's Award offered in recognition of outstanding contributions to the San Angelo community. Drew was bestowed the title of "Honorary Alumni" for authoring House Bill 3564 which allowed the realignment of Angelo State University with the Texas Tech University System, a first in the history of Texas Higher Education.

Other recognitions:
San Angelo Chamber of Commerce 2012 Citizen of the Year
Outstanding Legislator by the Texas Land Title Association
Friends of County Government by the Texas Association of Counties
Champion for Free Enterprise Award by the Texas Association of Business
Outstanding Contribution to Law Enforcement by the Texas Police Chiefs Association



  • No newsletters have been submitted