Skip to main content
TEXAS flag

An official website of the Texas government

Committee on Homeland Security & Public Safety


Section 15. Homeland Security and Public Safety — The committee
shall have nine members, with jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to:
(1) law enforcement;
(2) the prevention of crime and the apprehension of criminals;
(3) the provision of security services by private entities;
(4) homeland security, including:
(A) the defense of the state and nation, including terrorism
response; and
(B) disaster mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery;
(5) the following state agencies: the Texas Commission on Law
Enforcement, the Department of Public Safety, the Texas Division of Emergency
Management, the Emergency Management Council, the Texas Forensic Science
Commission, the Texas Military Preparedness Commission, the Texas Private
Security Board, the Commission on State Emergency Communications, and the
Texas Crime Stoppers Council.