Skip to main content
TEXAS flag

An official website of the Texas government

Committee on Public Education


Section 27. Public Education — The committee shall have 13 members,
with jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to:
(1) the public schools and the public school system of Texas and the
financing thereof;
(2) the state programming of elementary and secondary education for
the public school system of Texas;
(3) proposals to create, change, or otherwise alter school districts of
the state; and
(4) the following state agencies: the State Board of Education,
the Texas Education Agency, the Texas representatives to the Education
Commission of the States, the Office of Southern Regional Education Compact
Commissioner for Texas, the Texas School for the Blind and Visually Impaired,
the State Board for Educator Certification, and the Texas School for the Deaf.