Skip to main content
TEXAS flag

An official website of the Texas government

Committee on Insurance


Section 18. Insurance — The committee shall have nine members, with
jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to:
(1) insurance and the insurance industry;
(2) all insurance companies and other organizations of any type
writing or issuing policies of insurance in the State of Texas, including their
organization, incorporation, management, powers, and limitations; and
(3) the following state agencies: the Texas Department of Insurance,
the Texas Health Benefits Purchasing Cooperative, and the Office of Public
Insurance Counsel.