Skip to main content
TEXAS flag

An official website of the Texas government

Committee on Human Services


Section 17. Human Services — The committee shall have nine members,
with jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to:
(1) welfare and rehabilitation programs and their development,
administration, and control;
(2) oversight of the Health and Human Services Commission as it
relates to the subject matter jurisdiction of this committee;
(3) intellectual disabilities and the development of programs incident
(4) the prevention and treatment of intellectual disabilities; and
(5) the following state agencies: the Department of Family and
Protective Services, the Texas State Board of Social Worker Examiners, and the
Texas State Board of Examiners of Professional Counselors.