Skip to main content
TEXAS flag

An official website of the Texas government

Committee on Corrections


Section 5. Corrections — The committee shall have nine members, with
jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to:
(1) the incarceration and rehabilitation of convicted felons;
(2) the establishment and maintenance of programs that provide
alternatives to incarceration; and
(3) the following state agencies: the Texas Department of Criminal
Justice, the Special Prosecution Unit, the Board of Pardons and Paroles, the
Texas Civil Commitment Office, and the Texas Correctional Office on Offenders
with Medical or Mental Impairments.