Member's Page

Rep. Giddings, Helen

member image

Giddings Honored at NFBPA's 10th Annual Leadership Awards Dinner  print page

by: Rep. Giddings, Helen

Representative Helen Giddings (Dallas) was honored at the 10th annual Leadership Awards Dinner on July 25, 2013 hosted by UT Dallas and the National Forum for Black Public Administrators (NFBPA). The theme for this year's award dinner was "Leadership: Commitment to Excellence Through the Fabric of Character." Additionally, this was the first time the event has been held outside of the D.C. area, according to UT-Dallas vice president for administration, and NFBPA board member and event co-chair, Calvin Jamison.

The NFBPA was founded in 1983 as a progressive organization dedicated to the advancement of black public leadership in local and state governments across the United States. The NFBPA consists of over 2,600 members nationwide and has established a strong reputation for implementing quality leadership development initiatives in over 350 different jurisdictions.

The annual NFBPA awards dinner typically honors individuals who demonstrate an outstanding level and dedication to public service. Honorees of the evening included: Mr. Ron Kirk, former mayor of Dallas and former U.S. trade representative; Texas Representative Helen Giddings; U.S. Representative Eddie Bernice Johnson; and Mr. William Euille, mayor of Alexandria, Virginia. Mayor Julian Castro of San Antonio received the Leadership Trailblazer Award, the first of its kind from the NFBPA. Additionally receiving statewide leadership awards were Ms. Emma Johnson Hadley, the chancellor of Tarrant County College District; and Mr. Ronald Jones, the former mayor of Garland, Texas.

Representative Giddings was extremely proud to have been honored by the NFBPA at this event in which her continued dedication to public service was recognized. Additionally, Representative Giddings was pleased and impressed that the organization chose the city of Dallas and UTD to hold the event.

Contact: Elaine Taylor (972) 224-6795

Contact Info


Capitol Address:
District Address:

Room GW.11

P.O. Box 2910

Austin, TX 78768

(512) 463-0953

(512) 463-5887 Fax

1510 North Hampton Road, #340

DeSoto, TX 75115

(972) 224-6795

(972) 228-6796 Fax