House Representative

Zwiener, Erin


Rep. Zwiener Receives Leadership Award from Equality Texas

Kyle, TX — LGBTQ advocacy organization Equality Texas celebrated its 30th anniversary on Saturday, November 16. The five founding members of the Texas Legislature’s LGBTQ Caucus were honored at the celebratory gala for their work championing equal rights during the 86th Legislative Session. Representative Erin Zwiener (Driftwood), along with the other four founding members, was the recipient of Equality Texas’ Leadership Award.

“I’m deeply honored to be recognized by this outstanding organization for the work the founding members and I did this past session to advocate for the LGBTQ community,” said Rep. Zwiener. “I’m hopeful that the LGTBQ community will continue to gain more representation in the halls of power, and that attacking our community will become a thing of the past.”

Representative Erin Zwiener, who identifies as bisexual, was elected to the Texas House of Representatives in November 2018. She is one of five openly LGBTQ members in the Texas Legislature — the other members are Rep. Mary Gonzalez (El Paso), Rep. Celia Israel (Austin), Rep. Julie Johnson (Carrollton), and Rep. Jessica Gonzalez (Dallas) — and together they founded the first-ever LGBTQ Caucus to bring LGBTQ issues to the forefront.

Media Contact: Holly Doyle