House Representative

Clardy, Travis



AUSTIN - State Representative Travis Clardy was appointed by Speaker Dennis Bonnen to serve on two House committees for the 86th Legislative Session: the Committee on Homeland Security and Public Safety, and the Committee on Human Services.

“With the announcement of these committee assignments, the Texas House can begin work to hear and evaluate bills to address the important issues affecting all Texans.” Rep. Clardysaid. "Speaker Bonnen’s appointments will effectively serve the people of Texas."

The Committee on Homeland Security and Public Safety has jurisdiction over defense of the state and nation, and addressesissues including terrorism, disaster mitigation, law enforcement, and the operations and duties of the Texas Department of Public Safety. The Committee on Human Services has jurisdiction over state resources used to address the mental welfare of individuals with intellectual disabilities, and agencies under its jurisdiction include the Texas Health and Human Services Commission and the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services.

"It is an honor to be placed on these two committees,” said Rep. Clardy. “Serving on the Committee on Homeland Security and Public Safety is especially important because the security of the border we share with Mexico impacts not only the safety of the citizens of Texas, but our economy and the relationship with our largest trading partner.” On his appointment to the Committee on Human Services Clardy stated, "East Texans know we havelimited mental and behavioral health resources, and our work on the Committee on Human Services will have a direct and positive impact on developing policies and strategies for our region. With oversight of the Department of Health and Human Services, the state’s largest agency, we can look at how managed care organizations are serving our rural hospitals and health care networks.”

Representative Clardy is currently serving his fourth term as the State Representative for House District 11, which includes Cherokee, Nacogdoches, and Rusk counties.

CONTACT: Coy A. Westbrook