House Representative

Sheffield, J. D.


Sheffield Named to Special Committee on Child Protection

Austin-- Texas House Speaker Joe Straus named nine legislators, including Representative J.D. Sheffield, to the House Select Committee on Child Protection.

The committee is charged with studying the incidence of abuse and neglect fatalities in Texas and making recommendations to protect children.

“The death of even one child due to abuse or neglect is unacceptable,” said Speaker Straus. “The Texas House is committed to working with Child Protective Services (CPS) and local communities to prevent senseless tragedies. I am confident that this committee will provide meaningful recommendations to improve outcomes for Texas children.”

Representative Dawnna Dukes (Austin) will chair the committee. Its membership will include Reps. Cindy Burkett (Sunnyvale), Tony Dale (Cedar Park), Jessica Farrar (Houston), James Frank (Wichita Falls), John Frullo (Lubbock), Bobby Guerra (Mission), Toni Rose (Dallas), and J.D. Sheffield (Gatesville).

“I am pleased to be in a position to work toward protecting our children” said Rep. J.D. Sheffield.

The select committee will also work in concert with the public members of the Protect our Kids Commission, which the Legislature created in 2013. The commission will study the rate of child abuse and neglect fatalities and recommend strategies to prevent and reduce them.

Sheffield, a family practice physician, represents Comanche, Coryell, Erath, Hamilton, McCulloch, Mills, San Saba, and Somervell Counties in the Texas House of Representatives.