Member's Page

Rep.Thompson, Ed

member image

print page

by: Rep. Thompson, Ed

AUSTIN – Representative Ed Thompson was honored to accept the 86th Legislative Session Leadership Award for House Bill 1953 from the Texas Chemical Council (TCC) on October 10, 2019.

“The Texas Chemical Council is proud to present its 2019 Legislative Leadership Award to Representative Ed Thompson,” stated TCC President Hector Rivero. “Representative Thompson’s passage of HB 1953 (“Plastics to Fuel”) is forward thinking and promotes environmental sustainability by incentivizing the recycling of post-consumer plastic waste into fuels and other feedstocks, and significantly reducing the amount of plastics waste that would otherwise go to Texas landfills.”

House Bill 1953 will encourage a new sustainable plastics-to-fuel market which will increase recycling and reuse of traditionally non-recyclable and single-use materials. Plastics-to-fuel is a technology that uses “pyrolysis” which coverts non-recycled plastics into petroleum-based products via a thermochemical process. Pyrolysis can produce crude oil, diesel fuel, petrochemicals and monomers, as well as industrial products such as waxes and lubricants—all from non-recycled plastics.

This bill will encourage the growth of a new market by prohibiting the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) from considering post-use polymers or recoverable feedstocks to be "solid waste" if they are converted into a valuable product. Since these recycled products will not be considered "solid waste" under the law, they will not be subject to the fees TCEQ normally imposes.

Representative Thompson is humbled to have been recognized by the Texas Chemical Council for his work on this important issue and hopes that Texas can continue to find innovative ways to reuse products that are typically discarded.

The Alliance to End Plastic Waste is committed to eliminating plastic waste by advancing new technologies that minimize waste, make recycling and recovering plastics easier, and create value from all post-use plastics. To learn more about this initiative go to You may contact my Chief of Staff, Molly Wilson, at (512) 463-0707 should you have any questions.

Contact: Molly Wilson

Contact Info


Capitol Address:
District Address:

Room 1N.7

P.O. Box 2910

Austin, TX 78768

(512) 463-0707

(512) 463-8717 Fax

2341 N. Galveston Ave., Suite 120

Pearland, Texas 77581