Member's Page

Rep.Zwiener, Erin

member image

Rep. Zwiener’s New Bill Would Fund Pipeline Emergency Preparations  print page

by: Rep. Zwiener, Erin

Austin, TX — Today at the Texas State Capitol, State Rep. Erin Zwiener (Driftwood) laid out House Bill 4060 to ensure prompt and proper response to emergencies involving large gas pipelines. By promoting and providing a source for funding pipeline emergency preparedness, HB 4060 will help protect the safety of residents in the case of a pipeline spill, leak, or explosion.

“Communities are forced to deal with these large pipelines without any input in the routing process,” said Rep. Zwiener. “Texas landowners are rightfully worried about what happens in the unfortunate instance of a pipeline accident. By establishing and funding a pipeline emergency preparedness grant program, we are protecting their futures and assuaging their fears.”

Funds awarded by the pipeline emergency preparedness grant program would go toward emergency preparedness expenses such as those incurred during the creation of an evacuation plan for pipeline-related emergencies. There are over 2600 landowners in the designated pipeline evacuation zone in House District 45 alone.

42 Texans came to the capitol to drop cards in support of the bill, seven of whom testified in front of the Energy Resources Committee. The bill was laid out by Rep. Zwiener and is now pending in committee.

Four other pipeline-related bills were laid out before the House Energy Resource Committee today: Rep. Zwiener’s HB 4423 and HB 864, 866, and 868 authored by Rep. Rafael Anchia (D-Dallas). Rep. Zwiener is a co-author on all three.

Other background: Kinder Morgan is planning a 430-mile pipeline that would run from West Texas near to the Houston suburb of Katy. The pipeline would cut through the Hill Country in Hays and Blanco Counties—the heart of Rep. Zwiener’s House District 45.

Local jurisdictions in and near House District 45 that have each passed resolutions against the Kinder Morgan Pipeline include:

● Hays County
● Gillespie County
● City of Kyle
● City of Buda
● City of San Marcos
● City of Wimberley
● City of Woodcreek
● Hays Trinity Groundwater Conservation District
● Barton Springs Edwards Aquifer Conservation District
● Hill Country Underground Water District
● Fredericksburg Convention and Visitors Bureau
● Hays CISD

Media Contact: Graham Senor

Contact Info


Capitol Address:
District Address:

Room E2.416

P.O. Box 2910

Austin, TX 78768

(512) 463-0647

(512) 463-3573 Fax

225 S Main St. Unit 102

Kyle, Texas 78640