Member's Page

Rep.Zwiener, Erin

member image

Rep. Zwiener Honors Grammy-Nominated Wood & Wire with Resolution on House Floor  print page

by: Rep. Zwiener, Erin

Austin, TX -- The 2019 Texas Legislature got a visit from Grammy-nominated Texas band Wood & Wire this morning. The band, whose latest album North of Despair was recorded in Dripping Springs, was nominated this past year for a Grammy Award for Best Bluegrass Album. Two of the band members are originally from House District 45.

Rep. Zwiener honored the group with House Resolution No. 486, which recognizes Wood & Wire and congratulates the band on its nomination for a Grammy Award for Best Bluegrass Album of 2018.

“We are deeply proud of Wood & Wire and so glad they chose Dripping Springs to record their Grammy-nominated album North of Despair,” said Rep. Zwiener from the House floor. “This crew has quickly become an impressive force in bluegrass, setting themselves apart with strong, original song craft.”

Formed in 2011, Wood & Wire has recorded three full length studio LPs, plus two EPs, and a live album. The four-member band includes guitarist-vocalist Tony Kamel, mandolinist Billy Bright, banjo player Trevor Smith, and upright bass player Dominic Fisher, all of whom were in attendance at the Capitol.

You can read more about Wood & Wire at their website:

Media Contact: Graham Senor

Contact Info


Capitol Address:
District Address:

Room E2.416

P.O. Box 2910

Austin, TX 78768

(512) 463-0647

(512) 463-3573 Fax

225 S Main St. Unit 102

Kyle, Texas 78640