Member's Page

Rep.Bowers, Rhetta

member image

Rep. Rhetta Andrews Bowers Proud To See Constituents Honored For Their Accomplishments And Work In Their Community 
print page

by: Rep. Bowers, Rhetta

Austin, TEXAS – State Representative Rhetta Andrews Bowers (HD 113) was pleased to have Linda Griffin, B.J. Williams and Ricky McNeal at the 2019 African American Legislative Summit to accept the Texas Legislative Black Caucus Outstanding Texan Award. Ms. Griffin, Mr. Williams and Mr. McNeal were nominated for the award by Representative Bowers for their service and involvement in their community. In addition, Mapenzi Leon, Dyonne West and Iman Taylor, all students from HD 113, were awarded scholarships for their work in the classroom. Iman was awarded one of the top scholarships of $4,000, while Mapenzi and Dyonne were awarded with $1,500 each.

“Linda, B.J. and Ricky are three individuals who have given so much to the City of Garland over the years. It was my honor to nominate them to receive this prestigious award and I am happy to see them get the recognition they deserve. It was also great to see Mapenzi, Dyonne and Iman get rewarded for their hard work in school. They are definitely some of the best and brightest youths in our district and I can't wait to see everything that they accomplish in the future.”

Each year, the TLBC Outstanding Texan Award is given to individuals who are making significant contributions to their community through their time, actions, talents and dedication. Linda Griffin has been a member of the Garland Independent School District’s Board of Trustees since 1998. B.J. Williams was a member of the Garland City Council from 2012 to 2018. Ricky McNeal is the current President and Political Action Chair of the Garland NAACP.

“The Outstanding Texan Award is given to individuals who have the talent to create positive change in society. Through their contributions to our community, Linda, B.J. and Ricky have more than proven that they are worthy of this award. I am proud to be their representative.”

Contact Info


Capitol Address:
District Address:

Room E2.906

P.O. Box 2910

Austin, TX 78768

(512) 463-0464

(512) 463-9295 Fax

3200 Broadway Blvd. Suite 375

Garland, Texas 75043

(972) 272-6237