Member's Page


member image

Workgroup on House Sexual Harassment Policy to Hold Public Hearing  print page

by: Rep.

Austin - The workgroup on the House sexual harassment policy will be holding a public hearing on Friday, November 16 at 10 a.m. in E1.026. It will be streamed live through the Texas House website.

The hearing will include invited testimony that will help to inform the workgroup's policy recommendations to prevent and eradicate sexual harassment in the Legislature as directed by Speaker Joe Straus. Testimony is expected to include representatives from the Texas Association Against Sexual Assault (TAASA) and Stop Abuse for Everyone (SAFE) Alliance. Additionally, the University of Texas at Austin's Institute for Organizational Excellence will provide an analysis of a recently conducted House employee survey regarding the current policy and culture of the Texas House of Representatives.

In a joint statement, workgroup co-chairs Reps. Howard and Koop said, "While improvements were made to the House sexual harassment policy last year, we know there is more that can be done to provide further clarification regarding fair, just, and transparent procedures for reporting and enforcement. It is important that the Legislature be a safe environment for employees and those who do business here, and we need a comprehensive policy that provides assurance that sexual harassment will not be tolerated.”

Other workgroup members include Reps. Angie Chen Button, Tony Dale, Nicole Collier, Lina Ortega, Abel Herrero, Tom Oliverson, Gary VanDeaver and Gene Wu.

Contact Info


Capitol Address:
District Address: