Member's Page

Rep.Murphy, Jim

member image

Representative Jim Murphy Chairs First Hearing of House Committee on Special Purpose Districts 
print page

by: Rep. Murphy, Jim

Austin, TX - March 2, 2017 - The House Committee on Special Purpose Districts met for its first hearing Thursday, March 2, to hear organizational testimony.

Chairman Jim Murphy expressed enthusiasm for the makeup of his committee, which includes a former mayor, constable, city councilman, county commissioner, and community college trustee.

Said Murphy, " The level of expertise of the committee members makes them a great team, and I think we are ready to meet the challenges faced by the committee. I'm grateful to Speaker Straus for assembling such a stellar group."

In addition to Murphy, the members include Vice Chair Mary Ann Perez (Houston), Cecil Bell, Jr. (Magnolia), Philip Cortez (San Antonio), Scott Cosper (Killeen), Mike Lang (Granbury) and Leighton Schubert (Caldwell). The committee generally meets Thursday mornings during the legislative session.

Representative Murphy is available for questions and comments.

Contact Jason Briggs

Contact Info


Capitol Address:
District Address:

Room 1N.12

P.O. Box 2910

Austin, TX 78768

(512) 463-0514

(512) 463-8715 Fax

9525 Katy Freeway

Suite 215

Houston, Texas 77024

(713) 465-8800