Member's Page

Rep.Thompson, Ed

member image

Representative Ed Thompson Named Vice-Chairman of Environmental Regulation Committee, Appointed to Transportation Committee 
print page

by: Rep. Thompson, Ed

AUSTIN – Speaker Joe Straus announced committee assignments for the 85th Session of the Texas House of Representatives today, appointing Representative Ed Thompson as Vice-Chair of the House Committee on Environmental Regulation and as a member of the House Committee on Transportation.

"I am both humbled and honored to be appointed to these two committees that are very important to House District 29 and the gulf coast area,” Thompson said. “I am looking forward to working hard to address the substantive transportation and environmental regulation issues that affect our communities and our state. Constituents in District 29 will have a strong voice in these upcoming discussions," Thompson affirmed.

The Transportation Committee is chaired by Rep. Geanie Morrison (District 30). This committee has oversight of all matters pertaining to commercial motor vehicles, both bus and truck, and their control, regulation, licensing, and operation; the Texas highway system, including all roads, bridges, and ferries constituting a part of the system; the licensing of private passenger vehicles to operate on the roads and highways of the state; the regulation and control of traffic on the public highways of the State of Texas; railroads, street railway lines, interurban railway lines, steamship companies, and express companies; airports, air traffic, airlines, and other organizations engaged in transportation by means of aerial flight; water transportation in the State of Texas, and the rivers, harbors, and related facilities used in water transportation and the agencies of government exercising supervision and control thereover; the regulation of metropolitan transit; and the following state agencies: the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, the Texas Department of Transportation, and the Texas Transportation Commission.

The Environmental Regulation Committee will be chaired by Rep. Joe Pickett (District 79). The committee has oversight over all matters pertaining to air, land, and water pollution, including the environmental regulation of industrial development; the regulation of waste disposal; environmental matters that are regulated by the Department of State Health Services or the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality; oversight of the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality as it relates to environmental regulation; and the Texas Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal Compact Commission.

“It has been a privilege to work on the Environmental Regulation Committee the last two terms, and I am glad to continue serving on this committee,” Thompson said. “I am also looking forward to working with advocates, stakeholders, and my fellow committee members to improve a variety of issues important to our state.”

Contact: Emily Kirchner

Contact Info


Capitol Address:
District Address:

Room 1N.7

P.O. Box 2910

Austin, TX 78768

(512) 463-0707

(512) 463-8717 Fax

2341 N. Galveston Ave., Suite 120

Pearland, Texas 77581