Member's Page

Rep.Ashby, Trent

member image

print page

by: Rep. Ashby, Trent

AUSTIN, TX -- State Representative Trent Ashby (Lufkin) is pleased to announce the launch of the 2016-2017 High School Aerospace Scholars (HAS) program! HAS enables selected Texas high school juniors to explore new frontiers and become a part of NASA and their aerospace industry partner's plans for human space exploration.

Selected students will apply their skills to complete interactive, online assignments during the school year, and those who score high enough will travel to Johnson Space Center (JSC) in Houston for the summer "onsite experience." With the guidance of NASA scientists and engineers at JSC, they will put their skills to use by working in teams to design a mission to Mars and take part in hands-on engineering challenges. Students are also treated to tours of the JSC facilities and presentations from experts in science, technology, engineers and mathematics (STEM) fields.

"The feedback I have received from local students who have participated in this program has been incredible," Ashby stated. "I highly encourage our juniors in high school who have an interest in STEM-related studies to apply for this once in a lifetime opportunity."

To be eligible, a student must be: a United States citizen; a Texas resident; a current high school junior; interested in science, technology, engineering or mathematics; able to commit to the four-month online course and a one-week residential experience during the summer; and able to access the internet and e-mail.

The State of Texas, in partnership with JSC and the Texas education community, developed HAS in 1999 to encourage students to pursue studies and STEM. More than 9,000 students from across Texas have participated in the program since its inception 17 years ago. Additional partners include the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo, Rotary National Award for Space Achievement and the University of Houston System.

High school juniors interested in applying for the 2016-2017 project should visit:

Contact Info


Capitol Address:
District Address:

Room E2.806

P.O. Box 2910

Austin, TX 78768

(512) 463-0508

(512) 463-5896 Fax

2915 Atkinson Dr.

Lufkin, TX 75901