Member's Page

Rep.Longoria, Oscar

member image


by: Rep. Longoria, Oscar

LA JOYA, TX-- Texas House Speaker Joe Straus has named State Representative Oscar Longoria (HD-35) to the Joint Interim Committee to Study Border Security, which will examine the short- and long-term budgetary effects of addressing increased activity along the Texas-Mexico border.

"It is an honor to be appointed to this important committee, which affects the entirety of my District," said Representative Oscar Longoria, D-La Joya. "This past session, I was able to pass meaningful border security legislation, which has provided for increased funding for our local courts and the Department of Public Safety to more efficiently prosecute criminals that pose a threat to our communities and state. I look forward to continue working with my colleagues, House Leadership, and DPS to develop solutions and identify areas in which we can continue to improve upon border security and maintain the safety of every Texan."

A main focus of the 84th Legislative Session, Speaker Straus and other state leaders, through HB 1, provided a historic $840 million in All Funds for border security. This will allow for the hiring of 250 new Department of Public Safety (DPS) troopers and allow a 50-hour work week. In addition, HB 11 allocated $310 million over the 2016-17 biennium bolstering security along the Texas-Mexico border. Among its provisions, it creates a training facility for law enforcement in the Rio Grande Valley and the establishment of southbound checkpoints on international bridges.

"This committee will provide oversight of the state's border security operations to see that resources are being used effectively and efficiently," Speaker Straus said. "The Legislature has made a historic investment in improving public safety in South Texas and across the state, and the members of this committee will closely monitor the use of those dollars."

Speaker Pro Tempore Dennis Bonnen of Angleton will chair the new committee. Its membership will also include Reps. Larry Phillips of Sherman, Poncho Nevarez of Eagle Pass, and DeWayne Burns of Cleburne.

Contact Info


Capitol Address:
District Address:

Room E2.308

P.O. Box 2910

Austin, TX 78768

(512) 463-0645

(512) 463-0559 Fax

District Mail Address

P.O. Box 1029

Penitas TX, 78576

Peņitas District Office info (Physical address)

1320 S. Main St.

Peņitas TX, 78576

(956) 580-6944

(956) 580-2233 Fax

La Feria District Office info (Physical address)

126 E. Commercial Ave.

La Feria, TX 78559

(956) 797-2101