Member's Page

Rep. Straus, Joe

member image


by: Rep. Straus, Joe

AUSTIN – – Texas House Speaker Joe Straus today appointed three legislators to fill openings on the Legislative Budget Board (LBB).

Speaker Straus named Reps. Drew Darby of San Angelo, John Otto of Dayton and John Zerwas of Simonton to serve on the LBB until the next Legislature convenes. They will replace Reps. Dan Branch of Dallas, Harvey Hilderbran of Kerrville and Jim Pitts of Waxahachie, who are not returning for the next legislative session.

The LBB develops budget recommendations for the appropriations process, provides fiscal analysis for proposed legislation and evaluates the efficiency and performance of state government. The Board is co-chaired by the Speaker of the House and the Lieutenant Governor and also includes four Members of the House and four Members of the Senate. In addition to the Speaker and the three new appointees, Rep. Sylvester Turner of Houston continues to serve on the LBB.

“Representatives Darby, Otto and Zerwas have provided valuable leadership as Appropriations subcommittee chairmen in previous sessions,” said Speaker Straus, San Antonio. “They have demonstrated a deep understanding of the budget process and a proven commitment to fiscal discipline. I have every confidence that they will continue working to make state government efficient, effective and accountable to taxpayers.”

In the months ahead, members of the LBB will provide important guidance in the development of the 2016-17 biennial budget that will be introduced soon after the 84th Legislature convenes in January.

Speaker Straus also expressed his profound gratitude to Reps. Branch, Hilderbran and Pitts.

“Thanks to their stewardship, our budget is balanced, our reserve fund is as healthy as it’s ever been, and our economy is poised for future growth,” Speaker Straus said. “They have worked diligently to keep per-capita spending among the lowest of any state while responsibly focusing resources on key priorities. The Texas economy will benefit from the work of these public servants long after they’ve left office.”

Contact Info


Capitol Address:
District Address:

Room 2W.13

P.O. Box 2910

Austin, TX 78768

(512) 463-1000

(512) 463-0675 Fax

7373 Broadway Suite 402

San Antonio, Texas 78209

(210) 828-4411

(210) 832-9994 Fax