Member's Page

Rep.Parker, Tan

member image

print page

by: Rep. Parker, Tan

Scholarship Recipient Will Receive Up To $10,000 For Their Educational Expenses

(Flower Mound, Texas) Today State Representative Tan Parker announced that his office is accepting applications for the Texas Armed Services Scholarship (TASS), a scholarship program that affords each Member of the Texas Legislature the opportunity to annually award a scholarship of up to $10,000 to a student dedicated to participating in Reserve Officers’ Training Corps (ROTC) programs while at civilian colleges. A student must meet specific eligibility criteria in order to receive an initial award and must also enter into an agreement to serve at least 4 years in a branch of our nation’s armed services. Depending on available program funding, a recipient may receive the annual scholarship for up to four years.

“I can think of no higher calling for our nation’s youth than to serve in our armed services where they will further their educations and receive the training necessary to succeed in their future endeavors,” Parker stated. “This scholarship program is the perfect opportunity to assist an aspiring student along that path, and I look forward to awarding my office’s scholarship to a very impressive and qualified individual.”

To be eligible for nomination, an applicant must meet two of the following four academic criteria:

1. Be on track to graduate, or has graduated high school with the Distinguished Achievement Program or the International Baccalaureate Program;
2. Have a high school GPA of 3.0 or greater on a 4.0 scale;
3. Achieve a college readiness score on the SAT (1590) or ACT (23);
4. Be ranked in the top one-third of the prospective high school graduating class.

In addition to the application requirements, scholarship recipients must enroll in a Texas public or private accredited institution of higher education, remain a member of an ROTC program while a student and graduate with a degree within 6 years. Interested parties can visit
for more information on the scholarship program. To initiate the application process, please contact Rep. Parker’s District Director, Mrs. Patricia Robinson, at 972-724-8477 or at Rep. Parker’s application deadline is Monday, June 30th.

Initially elected on November 7th of 2006, Representative Parker represents both rural and urban parts of Denton County which encompasses the communities of Flower Mound, Argyle, Lantana, Dish, Ponder, Justin, Northlake, Copper Canyon, Double Oak, Bartonville, Trophy Club, Roanoke and portions of Lewisville, Fort Worth, Highland Village, Westlake and Southlake.

Serving in his 4th term in the Texas Legislature, Representative Parker is focusing his efforts on economic development, job creation, strengthening border security and immigration policy, promoting fiscally responsible government spending, providing a strong public education system, enhancing public safety and protecting family values. Representative Parker is the current Chairman of the Corrections Committee. He also serves on the Land and Resource Management Committee, the Criminal Procedure Committee and the Joint Committee on Human Trafficking.

Contact Info


Capitol Address:
District Address:

Room 1W.11

P.O. Box 2910

Austin, TX 78768

(512) 463-0688

800 Parker Square, Suite 245

Flower Mound, TX 75028

(972) 724-8477