Member's Page

Rep. Simmons, Ron

member image


by: Rep. Simmons, Ron

AUSTIN – Representative Ron Simmons today announced changes to his leadership team in Austin. Ben Lancaster, who has served as Legislative Director, will become the new Chief of Staff. Eric Stratton, outgoing Chief of Staff, is leaving for a senior position at the Texas Health and Human Services Commission.

Said Rep. Simmons of the changes, "I am pleased to promote Ben Lancaster to Chief of Staff. Ben has been with me since my general election campaign and is from the region. He has a keen understanding of the issues facing House District 65 and insight and knowledge into policy and legislation that made him a valuable asset to my team this Session."

"I am looking forward to the challenges and opportunities that lie ahead as Chief of Staff," said Ben Lancaster. "I appreciate the faith and trust Rep. Simmons has placed in me to lead his operations for the good of District 65 and all of Texas."

Eric Stratton, a registered nurse, will be joining the Health and Human Services Commission as part of a three-person team managing the implementation of Medicaid reform under Senate Bill 7. "It has been an honor and a privilege serving Rep. Simmons and the people of House District 65. Ron is a principled conservative leader who quickly found ways to navigate legislative politics with grace, style, and class. I look forward to seeing more great things from the freshman class 'MVP' in the future," noted Mr. Stratton.

"I wish Eric all the best in his new endeavors serving the people of Texas. He has been a valuable member of my team and key to our successes this session. I have no doubt his nearly 20 years of public service will benefit the state in this capacity as much as it did me," said Rep. Simmons.

With this change, Ben Lancaster becomes Chief of Staff in the Austin office effective September 1, 2013. Mark Yarbrough continues to serve as District Director in Carrollton where he has held the position since Rep. Simmons took office.

Ben Lancaster
(512) 463-0478

Contact Info


Capitol Address:
District Address:

Room E2.608

P.O. Box 2910

Austin, TX 78768

(512) 463-0478

(512) 463-2089 Fax

1029 W. Rosemeade Parkway

Suite 124

Carrollton, TX 75007


(972)492.7408 Fax