Member's Page

Rep.Kacal, Kyle

member image

print page

by: Rep. Kacal, Kyle

AUSTIN -- State Representative Kyle Kacal (College Station) has been named a Vice-Chair of the newly created House Energy Caucus (HEC), a legislative caucus of the Texas House of Representatives, to focus on energy production and the issues facing adjacent communities.

"It is a privilege to be a founding member and a Vice-Chair of the Energy Caucus. I believe that this opportunity will allow me a unique forum to learn about and discuss energy policy that is important to our state," said Representative Kacal.

According to the U.S. Energy Information Administration, Texas is first in the nation in production of oil, natural gas, and wind energy. Texas coal and lignite production is also a key supplier for energy demands. As technological capability and demand has increased, the growth and expansion of these forms of energy production has affected all areas of the state.

"The Caucus will help to educate its members on the impact to energy production of legislation addressing water, transportation and workforce development needs," said the HEC Chair, State Representative Drew Darby (San Angelo). "This state's energy industry is revitalizing our state through innovative technologies and significant economic investment and I want to see that continue."

The HEC will provide educational opportunities and information on policy issues regarding traditional energy production such as oil, gas, and coal, as well as alternative energy including biomass, wind and solar power, and emerging technologies like clean coal/coal gasification. In addition, the HEC will also identify, research, and build coalitions to help resolve social and infrastructure issues faced by areas of the state experiencing significant impacts from increased activity related to the energy industry.

Representative Kacal is a first term legislator from Brazos County representing the people of Brazos, Falls, Limestone, McLennan and Robertson counties.

Terra Willett
(512) 463-0412

Contact Info


Capitol Address:
District Address:

Room E2.810

P.O. Box 2910

Austin, TX 78768

(512) 463-0412

3000 Briarcrest Dr., Suite 203,

Bryan, TX 77802