Rep. Straus, Joe

member image


by: Rep. Straus, Joe

AUSTIN – Texas House Speaker Joe Straus on Wednesday appointed Reps. Lyle Larson of San Antonio and Dade Phelan of Beaumont to the State Water Implementation Fund for Texas (SWIFT) Advisory Committee. Rep. Larson will serve as the advisory committee’s Co-Chairman.

The Legislature created the SWIFT advisory committee to oversee the Texas Water Development Board’s implementation of House Bill 4, which the Legislature passed in 2013. That legislation, which was a top priority for Speaker Straus and the Texas House, established the SWIFT account to provide loans that help communities across Texas finance water supply and conservation projects.

In the first year of implementation in 2015, the SWIFT program supported 30 water projects around the state totaling almost $900 million. In 2016, the Water Development Board is considering applications from approximately 25 different entities that have requested funding of about $800 million.

“The SWIFT is helping provide the water supply needed for a growing population and a healthy economy,” Speaker Straus said. “I have full confidence in Representative Larson and Representative Phelan to help ensure that the SWIFT is run wisely and effectively.”

The advisory committee provides recommendations to the Water Development Board on a number of issues, including the prioritization of projects in the State Water Plan, meeting goals for conservation, and management of the SWIFT. Statute requires that the advisory committee include one Member from the House Appropriations Committee, one from the Natural Resources Committee and one at-large Member. Rep. Eddie Lucio III of Brownsville will continue to serve on the advisory committee.

Contact: Jason Embry

Contact Info

Capitol Address:
District Address:

Room 2W.13

P.O. Box 2910

Austin, TX 78768

(512) 463-1000

(512) 463-0675 Fax

7373 Broadway Suite 402

San Antonio, Texas 78209

(210) 828-4411

(210) 832-9994 Fax