Rep. Straus, Joe

member image


by: Rep. Straus, Joe

AUSTIN -- Texas House Speaker Joe Straus named nine legislators Friday to the House Select Committee on Transportation Funding, Expenditures and Finance.

The committee, created during a 2013 special legislative session, will examine a variety of issues related to transportation funding. For example, Members will look at the reliability of current funding sources, the use of debt in transportation financing, use of the state highway fund for other agencies and appropriations to the Texas Department of Transportation.

Straus has identified transportation and other infrastructure-related issues as critically important in light of Texas’ rapid growth and economic success. The state’s population is growing twice as fast as the rest of the country, and Texas continues to be the national leader in job creation.

“Transportation is a top priority for the Texas House,” said Straus, San Antonio. “This committee will take an extensive, objective look at the transportation solutions that best suit our people and our growing economy.”

Rep. Joe Pickett of El Paso will chair the committee, which will also include Reps. Larry Phillips of Sherman, Armando “Mando” Martinez of Weslaco, Lyle Larson of San Antonio, Ruth Jones McClendon of San Antonio, Sergio Muñoz Jr. of Palmview, Dan Huberty of Houston, Paul Workman of Austin and Ron Simmons of Carrollton.

“These Members have an important job ahead of them,” Straus said. “Their work in the coming months will prepare the entire House to lead on transportation issues when the next legislative session begins. I have every confidence in this diverse, capable committee.”

The 84th Texas Legislature will convene in January 2015.


Contact Info

Capitol Address:
District Address:

Room 2W.13

P.O. Box 2910

Austin, TX 78768

(512) 463-1000

(512) 463-0675 Fax

7373 Broadway Suite 402

San Antonio, Texas 78209

(210) 828-4411

(210) 832-9994 Fax