Member's Page


member image

Laubenberg Named Texas State Chair of the American Legislative Exchange Council

by: Rep.

State Representative Jodie Laubenberg has been selected as the Texas State Chair of the American Legislative Exchange Council (ALEC).

ALEC is a national nonpartisan legislative group founded in 1973 to promote the Jeffersonian principles of free markets, limited government, federalism and individual liberty. With more than 2,000 bipartisan members representing all 50 states, it is the largest individual membership organization for state legislators. The group also has more than 300 private sector members.

Laubenberg said she is looking forward to her new role with ALEC. “At its heart, ALEC seeks to affect public policy that will ensure the powers of government are derived from, and assigned to, first the People, then the States, and finally the Federal Government," she said. “While ALEC is focused on policy at the state level, it is just as firm a believer in the need for public-private partnership in order to best promote a successful free market system. The business community provides many of the ideas and resources which make ALEC so successful,” Laubenberg said.

Texas House Speaker Joe Straus congratulated Laubenberg on the appointment. “I applaud Representative Laubenberg’s appointment to represent Texas as state chairwoman for the American Legislative Exchange Council,” Straus said. “Rep. Laubenberg’s commitment to advancing free-market and limited government policies in the Texas Legislature is well recognized and will be an asset to ALEC’s membership and board.”

Laubenberg, a resident of the Collin County community of Parker, has served in the Texas Legislature since 2003. District 89 includes Fairview, Lavon, Lowry Crossing, Lucas, Murphy, Nevada, Parker, St. Paul and Wylie and portions of Allen, Plano, Princeton and Sachse.

For more information on the American Legislative Exchange Council, visit the website For more information on Laubenberg and District 89, visit

Suzanne Bowers

Contact Info

Capitol Address:
District Address: